The Rumors are True

The rumors are true. I AM running the Chicago marathon again this year (gah) and I AM NOT running for Team LUNGevity and here is why:

  1. I’ve been hogging a spot. Yes, I have raised almost $7000 in the last 3 years but now I am opening a spot up for someone who has been impacted by lung cancer and can benefit from the support of LUNGevity Foundation. Our Breathe Deep and Team LUNGevity events are the front door to our organization and I’m hoping that just one more person can join us for the marathon and stick around as part of our LUNGevity family for life. Because as some of my past TL members can attest, I will bug you for FOREVER.
  2. Stealing is wrong in the real world, but in the fundraising world, it’s totally encouraged. Through researching charities to run for this year and signing up to run with one, I have been able to get a few ideas to implement with Team LUNGevity. I have also made some friends (phew, I know everyone was worried) and I have a little endurance event manager pow wow later this month. The more you know, the more you grow.

So while I may be running for another charity, you better believe I will continue to manage, fundraise, promote and host Team LUNGevity events between now and October 9 (you don’t get off that easy). You can totally direct your donations to my cohort Deanne Brandon who will be repping the team for the 4th year in a row.

For this year’s Chicago Marathon I will be running for Ronald McDonald House! As someone who cries out for her dad even as an adult (I’m using the term adult loosely) I truly support their mission in keeping families together. Examples from previous posts below.

Exhibit A

8cc18ad8-a771-48cb-91bb-dbce544cb6cc

Exhibit B (of roughly one million)

36dc7e78-ed66-4346-99d7-a703991c1d8f

Volunteering over the past year or so for Ronald McDonald House has helped me to see the direct positive impact that fundraising has on children and their families during such a tough time in their lives. Ronald McDonald works to keep families together providing a home away from home. Not having to worry about hotels, gas, dinner and so many other small things allows parents more time to spend with their sick child and that is absolutely something that I can get behind. So my goal for RMHC is $2000 and thanks to my amazing friends and family I am almost at the $1000 mark!

 

10384063_10152471592451137_294836527200110228_n

You can donate to my page HERE 

6a551932-fb13-4cc9-abd2-5bd5a69eed21.jpg

P.S. For any of our local Chicagoans, Breathe Deep North Shore is coming up on April 17th and in it’s 5th year their goal is to hit ONE MILLION DOLLARS! To help them knock that out of the park you can totally sign up and join us that Sunday! (This is me peer pressuring you).

dr.-evil-million-dollar-term-policy-300x241

Leave a Reply

