Running is Hard. Not Running is Hard.

I started this blog post over a month ago and titled it “New Shoes, New Tude” after I got these sweet kicks.

Shoes

So excited, I jumped right back into my running schedule (literally on the way home from Fleet Feet). Check out this view
Tuesday June 30 RunOh and this one.

10 mile run

Since it’s been over a month since my last blog (and because I don’t have time) I won’t post a photo of every brunch, run group, movie in the park, friend date, birthday celebration, workout class and intramural game. Just a few highlights below.

Meghan and I took a mental health break one day and did fun stuff like stand up paddle boarding, a DIY divvy bar crawl and explored some restaurants in the area (yumm Angry Crab).

DIY Divvy Tour

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A few of us volunteered and represented LUNGevity Foundation at the Imerman Angels Brunch Run 5K and had a blast.

Imerman signs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got to hang with these goons. Sisters are the best, everyone should get one.

Sista Sista

And this one (we’re in love).

Me and Bo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then in mid July I got a stress fracture in my right foot and had to pump the breaks. Yes, I called my dad right away crying uncontrollably that I won’t be able to run for a few weeks as if the world was ending. These helped though.

Flowers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is what everyone does in their office right?

Foot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is how I felt.

Injured

So I spent the time (trying not to punch anyone) doing weights (that might be a stretch), yoga and some swimming (okay rafting). For a few days I think my friends, family and co-workers got a good laugh at watching me hobble around and then that wore off and the fear set in.

Running-Like-Coffee-650

Thankfully, for everyone, I was cleared to run again a couple weeks ago and I went back to my marathon schedule thinking I would just hop right back in. I quickly realized that was not going to happen. For anyone who has seen me on the lakefront path in the past 2 weeks, no I’m not going to die even though it looks like it. So yes it is true: if you don’t use it, you lose it.

It’s scary to think how hard running can be after only a few weeks off. Mentally, I could not be happier to get out and run again (I think everyone else around me agrees). Physically though, it’s going to take me a couple more weeks to get back into it. So big thank you to my friends and run group who have run with me the past couple of weeks and only moderately laugh at my struggling.

Non running related (that exists right?) event season is coming up at work and things are about to get real. In anticipation for my 3rd year I decided do some highlights from last year (thankfully orange and t-shirts are growing on me). It’s true, our team would do just about anything to help end lung cancer.

Events 1

 

 

Events 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Events 3Events 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So as crazy as it’s about to get, I’m excited for this fall. But I do want to personally apologize to my dad for crying so hard during nap time in preschool that he had to move me to another school. I think he and I can both agree we’d like those naps back.

Naps

Cheers to 2015 event season and marathon number 4!

Coffee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also, big thank you to everyone who has donated to my fundraising page!

6 thoughts on “Running is Hard. Not Running is Hard.

  1. Girl, take your time getting back into running after a stress fracture! I had one in September after running a half and was running in a few weeks. I had a flare up about a month ago and just re-started physical therapy after being in a boot for 3 weeks. Don’t push it too hard or you’ll be dealing with it for.ev.er.
    Hope your recovery is a swift one!

  2. I didn’t even have a real injury and I’m struggling to find my way back after a little over a week off of running. I’m a little nervous about what it means for my fall marathon training too… Trying to simply find the joy in running and quite stressing myself out more than I need to!

Leave a Reply

