Nutmegs First Marathon

Nutmeg and I decided we would make a weekend out of this whole marathon thing so we got an Air bnb, grabbed our cohorts and went to Traverse City.

On the way there Thursday night we stopped in Grand Rapids where the beer is cheap.

Grand Rapids

Friday we spent the day exploring and we tried on hats.

Cool

Went to the beach.

Nutmeg

We ran into this sign, clearly we were meant to be on Wellington.

Wellington

And some poetry.

Poetry

We did a serious amount of hydrating with hard cider (probably not the right kind of hydration).

Cider

And followed it up with pie.

Pie

Laura made the coolest sign and gave us a pep talk per usual (no glitter though).

Laura's sign

Then we hit packet pick-up in our matching shirts.

Twins

Saturday morning we woke up super early and posed for a pre-race photo (naturally matching again and in the porta potty line).

Pre Marathon

I am definitely not going to pretend like it was a breeze, it was probably the hardest race I’ve done so far and I’m semi surprised that Meghan and I made it out alive without strangling each other. There were for sure a few times I thought she was going to murder me and we’d end up on an episode of Dateline. The course was relatively flat, Traverse City is beautiful and everyone we encountered was beyond nice. The marathon itself though was tough, like really really tough. Also big thanks to my iPhone for playing Phish’s Beauty of My Dreams and Want to Want Me by Jason Derulo on repeat for hours. If anyone needs a karaoke partner, I’m your girl.

So our time wasn’t so great and a couple of years ago I definitely would have beaten myself up about it but we ran 26.2 miles, stuck together and made it out alive so I’d consider that a win. Here’s what you look like after you run a zillion miles.

After Marathon

Since I met this goon on the interwebs, people often ask if we get along or if we get sick of being together all of the time.The answer is yes we do get along and no I don’t think I’ve gotten sick of her yet (I will keep you posted though). You definitely get to know someone when you live together but training for a marathon together takes it to a completely different level. When you run more than 15 or so miles with someone things get real but it also makes you more considerate of each other and I can confidently say that there’s no one else I’d let blow their nose in my sleeve. And I am so, so proud of her for finishing her first marathon! Naturally we celebrated with mimosas.

Mimosas

And the best brunch ever.

Brunch

And we skipped the napping and resting and went straight to drinking on a patio which was a pretty good life decision.

Post race drinks

And then did the same thing, just different location.

Post race

Then Sunday we spent the day tasting wine before we headed back home.

Wineries

On the way back we caught this sunset.

Drive Home

So now it’s back to real life and I’m sure I’m forgetting a ton of stuff but here goes.

Memorial day we went to Scooters naturally and celebrated still being alive.

Scooters

Then I made a mess. Walking and eating ice cream is tough!

Scooters Fail

And I did a lot of this because my body is old now.

Icing

Then Tuesday I came back to my office to these!

TL Shirts

Friday we had our May Team LUNGevity fundraiser at Halligans where Deanne seriously hustled the crowd and Deni and I drank beer.

Team LUNGevity Fundraiser

Meghan and I made it through over a year of living together, 16 weeks of training and a marathon but we almost did not make it out of our first Costco trip alive. Thankfully they have hotdogs and ice cream at the end or someone would have slept on the couch that night.

Costco

We celebrated National Running Day with Fleet Feet’s relay from store to store and then went out for the hawks game.

Natinal Running Day

And we made root beer floats for kiddos at Ronald McDonald.

Ronald McDonald

Saturday before the Hawks game we hit up a TRX class where I verbally annihilated a girl for laughing at Meghan for not running a lap after the class. Um she just ran a marathon so shut it lady. Then the dream team hit Logan Square for a scavanger hunt that turned out to be really fun and lead us around town doing shots with bartenders and hunting graffiti.

Then on Sunday John, Samantha and I did the Zoo Run through Lincoln Park which was pretty cool actually until the torrential downpour and lightning (I do not look good wet).

Zoo Run

Also my sister is getting married in October and it looks like this handsome fella is most likely going to be my date. Not mad.

Wedding Date

And Chicago Marathon training has officially started! And while I am totally excited to manage Team LUNGevity again this year and start running again, my body totally isn’t so I think the next couple of weeks are going to be rough. On the bright side it’s sunny and warm and basically the opposite of the winter training that I just went through so I’m not going to complain.

And big thank you to everyone who has donated to my fundraising page!

2 thoughts on “Nutmegs First Marathon

Leave a Reply

