Don’t Worry, I Run A Lot

Disclosure: In the last 12 days I’ve run 76 miles. I’m announcing this only because the post below contains a serious amount of food consumption.

So to start off on the right foot. . . Last Wednesday I ran 8 miles home and the view was pretty great.

8 Miles Wed 15th

And then I met Meghan for a Scooter’s date.

Scooters

We shared (that’s her sharing face) a Caramel Fudge Nut Brownie Chip concrete and as I commented that raspberries would be the only thing that could make this treat better, she pulled out a carton from her Whole Foods shopping bag. . . just in case we needed confirmation that we should be friends. #byor

BOYR

Thursday Bev came to see the new office and chat about Breathe Deep Newark and per usual she brought snacks.

Bundt cakes

Friday I had off work and it was 72 degrees so I did my long run and got a tan (okay so it was a weird tank top tan but I’ll take it). Having played tennis the day before and being as weak as I am, the hardest part of the 20 miler was holding my own arms up for over 3 hours, pathetic right? Check out these clear skies though!

20 miles view

But all long runs end in sangria (well the good ones at least) so we went to Diag. Blackhawks and great weather!

Friday night

My sister is getting married this fall so my fam celebrated. Sisters are the best, everyone should get one.

sista sista

Saturday night I thought I was 21 and drank a fishbowl. Sunday I quickly remembered I am not. Monday was kind of a crappy day already and then I found out this girl is leaving LUNGevity. I’m super happy about her new job but also sad she won’t be here everyday to laugh, cry and tackle mailboxes with.

Anna and I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anna

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have the best roomies though and Laura got these smiley face donuts on her way home from work to cheer me up.

smiley face donuts

And then because we’re really cool, Meghan and I did a little workout in our living room, not matching.

workout

And then Laura and I went for a jog!

Laura

Tuesday I squeezed in 8 miles before work.

Tuesday morning 8 miles

And 8 miles clearly wasn’t enough because I went in feeling like this.

Adult

But Dove must have known somehow because I opened a piece of chocolate and got this little message. It’s a pretty safe assumption though that if you’re eating dark chocolate at 9 am you’re having a crappy day so smart move Dove.

Dove

But the day got a lot better because on the way to lunch we found this with a dollar in it and it made me smile! So on our way back we left one for someone else to find!

Surprise!

And then this happened.

Vapiano

And later on the way to Jeni’s I saw this one the ground. What kind of dog is this?

Floppy

And as if the night couldn’t get any better, we did a little taste testing (and by a little I mean a lot). But someone has to do it right? To give you an idea of how much ice cream we got, the nice, innocent lady at the counter asked if we wanted 6 spoons, nope…. just 2.

Taste Testing

Later in the week Jeni’s closed it’s shops and recalled their ice cream so there is a slight chance that I have listeria. . .

Thursday John turned a million so these were in order.

Cookies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At night we did a little roomie volunteering at the Ronald McDonald House and it was Bulls night so obviously we had a blast.

Volunteering Benny

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We cooked, served food and I was on dish duty (yay my fav). Then we took a tour and they had the doorknobs of hope which were really cool!

Volunteering

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And while I’m sad that Anna is leaving us, I am happy that Deanne is moving into events! Naturally we celebrated with macaroons!

Macaroons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the last few months Laura has been trying to get us to go see The Room, which is supposed to literally be the worst movie ever made (spoiler alert: it was). So at midnight, in the rain we schlepped over to the Music Box and while it was horribly written, acted, way past my bed time and I looked like a wet dog, it was pretty fun so I’m not mad.

The Room

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The rest of the weekend was crazy busy and I did 12 miles in the rain, blah.

12 miles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We celebrated Meghan’s birthday with too many jello shots.

roomies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday, Deanne and I volunteered at the Ravenswood 5K (check out those vests).

volunteering Ravenswood 5K

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then we went to Taco in a Bag.

Tacos

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday is this little goats birthday and we plan on celebrating all week and ending on Saturday with a romantic 20 mile run.

Meghan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the scary counter on the left side of this blog tells me that there’s less than a month until the Bayshore Marathon and while I’m excited, there is a part of me that’s afraid I might come in last. Chicago has over 40,000 people who run it and while I’m not a Kenyan, I’m pretty confident that at least 1 person will come out behind me each year. Bayshore though has just over 2,000 runners so I could possibly be the one bringing up the caboose. Thankfully I have breweries to look into to distract me from these worries.

Outside it looks like spring but the wind makes it feel like winter and I’d be okay if it got warmer out ASAP. . just sayin.

spring!

 

P.S. I hit $1200 for my marathon fundraising! Thank you to my dad, Beth, Jen and everyone else who has donated!

Leave a Reply

