Countdown to Marathon Training: ONE WEEK!

Saturday morning my running life got a lot easier when Fleet Feet Lakeview opened! I love fun runs and chicks nights during the week but having to schlep home from the South Loop or even Old Town after a long day and running sometimes stinks. As of Saturday morning, there is a Fleet Feet open 5 blocks from my apartment making Monday night runs and Thursday chicks nights way more enticing. Meghan, Deanne and I braved the cold and went out for a 3 mile run and grabbed a couple #runchi shirts while we were at it.

10920954_3968469007244_5110123739679402082_n

Thankfully we got a workout in because Saturday afternoon 20 or so of our friends got together for a chili cookoff and while I didn’t come in first place, I’d consider myself a winner for getting to watch football, drink beer and eat chili all day.

10933896_3969821681060_6255904049980812114_n

I am officially signed up for the Bayshore Marathon and training starts next week! In the meantime I plan on spending the next week working out ‘for fun’ before stuff gets real again.

marathon

Considering my block looked like this on my walk to the train this morning I think spring marathon training is going to be quite the adventure!

unnamed (3)

P.S. Happy 5th birthday to my favorite little yogi and hoodrat: Barksdale!

16397_372584819564877_6935582395419041208_n

3 thoughts on “Countdown to Marathon Training: ONE WEEK!

  1. I love Fleet Feet! It’s great having a group to run with sometimes. Also, that chili looks amazing – I’m salivating right now wishing I could have some!

    Congrats on signing up for another marathon too! It’s exciting when training officially gets under way. I’m still building my base but start my marathon training at the end of February.

Leave a Reply

