Work, Life and Lung Cancer Awareness Month

I read an article this morning on the interwebs called “10 Unexpected Truths About Running a Marathon” and all 10 are totally spot on including number 4: You’ll Hate Running”. For a couple days after you finish a marathon you miss running and having a schedule so you work towards getting back to it. But somewhere between a week to 2 weeks after that feeling dies down and you’re over it completely. Aside from a chick’s night run last week (which is a workout but really more of a girls night hang out), a lunch break run for my sanity’s sake (pic below) and a Shred class I haven’t really felt like running.

Lunch Sanity Run

Unfortunately (I blame science) I still have to workout if I want to continue eating at the rate that I do (and keep up some level of sanity). So starting tomorrow it’s back to yoga sculpt at Core Power AND I am going to attempt kick boxing (feel free to laugh, it’ll be a sight for sure). Stay tuned for some scary stories. . .

The past week was kind of a blur but I did get sushi at my favorite place with this girl (sorry Leanne, we miss you) and a bunch of other stuff that I don’t even remember anymore.

Sushi Din

Friday my flight to our Kansas City event got cancelled . . three times. Thankfully I made it out first thing Saturday morning in enough time to sport this amazing orange t-shirt and hang out with my fabulous committee (and this little one).

1509682_783289215065036_5437141970063204550_n

Orange is starting to grow on me which is a good thing since all of our volunteer shirts are that color.

10671462_783287451731879_4840333051680161242_n

Sunday morning bright and early we headed over to Liberty Memorial for a great event day (check out this view).

10734260_783669458360345_3777460900245522020_n

10153868_783576871702937_7861186291082396258_n

It was a little windy (you can barely tell right?) And for some reason, someone thought it would be a good idea to give me a bullhorn (obviously he quickly realized it wasn’t necessary).

604100_783618385032119_1645422962676990746_n

10447115_783620838365207_1229028414830239323_n

10730782_783621078365183_727221474416529009_n

Despite the wind and cold we had a fantastic day and I’m so happy that I was able to be there to see everyone and be a part of the event!

Sunday I flew back and went to see the crazy guy tight rope across two buildings in Chicago without a net and blindfolded.

Tight Rope

I’m sort of glad I went to see it but I probably should have thought my plan through a little better because I ended up pushing through crowds with my suitcase to find my fwends and by the time I got there I was a little crabby and kind of got into a little bit of a scuffle with a girl standing behind us (yes, I got into an argument with someone) and I felt really really bad afterwards. Because she was totally wrong (seriously, she was, I’m not just saying that) BUT it isn’t her fault that I was tired and hungry and had a suitcase with me like a dingus and super crabby. But in my attempt to explain manners to her I realized that I wasn’t using mine and I was raised better than that and I’m really sorry. Anyways, it was a little chilly so I stole this hat (it looks better on me anyways) and all was right in the world (oh yeah, and I had pizza so that helped). You can see above my eye where someone’s suitcase hit my head on the plane when they were getting it down ugh.

Watching Tight Rope

This week is super crazy both at work and in real life (I think there’s a difference between those two?) but with a ton of great things. We’re doing margarita Monday tonight since it’s Beverly’s last week (although you don’t really need a reason for that), Wednesday is the Fleet Feet Fashion Show (yay) that a few of us make into a girls night every year because we’re really, really cool. Then a comedy show Friday! We have a ton of events going on this weekend including Breathe Deep Busse Woods that I’m going to Saturday morning and then Fall Benefit that I’ll be at Saturday night! I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to participate or not (because running and I could use a little break) but I’m definitely going to the Hot Chocolate on Sunday with friends. Thankfully, I’m an awesome cheerleader so if I don’t run, everyone’s in for a treat.

And, it’s Lung Cancer Awareness Month so spread the word whether it’s through social media, word of mouth or through cake pops like Beverly’s.

Cake Pops

Because if you have lungs, you can get lung cancer.

10365730_357138037789211_2134283321937370438_n

2 thoughts on “Work, Life and Lung Cancer Awareness Month

  1. Ironic, my buddy’s daughter just emailed me last night about the upcoming Fight for Air Climb in March benefitting Lung Cancer Research. Her dad, my lifelong buddy, succumbed to lung cancer this year. I blogged about the event last year and will do it again this year, in addition to climbing a skyscraper stairwell in downtown Philly along with friends and family. I wrote several posts about my buddy Billy’s passing. He was larger than life, and is still with us. It’s our stories that keep us alive. Thanks for all of your hard work supporting this worthy cause.

    • Hi Jim!

      Thanks for commenting! I am so sorry about your friend. I’d love to hear about the star climb in his memory.
      We have several events in that area if you are interested please let me know.
      Heather

Leave a Reply

