#RUNCHI Fun Run, New Shoes and Watermelon

Monday I planned on meeting up with the #runchi cheer team (including Samantha) and my roommate Meghan for a fun run at Fleet Feet after work. Pretty much right after I got on the train though I realized I forgot to bring my running shoes with me. So instead of going back home, I decided that it was fate intervening and telling me I should buy a new pair (because nothing makes a crappy day better than new running shoes). After work I headed straight to Fleet Feet and hopped on the treadmill so they could watch me ‘pronate’. Then the guy came out with a few selections and had me try them on. I opted for the latest version of the Brooks Adrenaline and while I wasn’t the craziest about the color at first, they’re starting to grow on me. He also suggested that I go up half a size to leave more room for my toes for long runs and he was right (although that means I now wear a size 10 shoe. . .woof). I think one of the ways you know you’re a ‘real runner’ (or maybe just an adult) is when you choose the right type of shoe for you instead of deciding based on color. There were about 20 other pairs that I liked better and were way cooler than the ones I got but these fit me like a glove!

Monday new shoes

Once I laced up I met with the #runchi cheer team girls and Meghan and we hit the road. Since it was a rest day, Sam and I just did an easy 3 miles and caught up on the latest gossip and Meghan chimed in here and there (she has an injury so is getting back in the game). The nice thing about running groups is that you meet new people and it’s easy to just jump in whenever you have time. We all have something in common so I can go for a couple weeks and then if I have to miss a few runs, I can hop back into the group and pick right back up where I left off. We ended back at the store and took some very sweaty photos.

Monday fun run with Meghan

Monday fun run with Samantha

Yesterday after work I went straight to packet pick-up for the Bastille 8K that Samantha, Meghan and a few other girls are doing together and grabbed mine and Meghan’s swag. Then I went on a quick 3 mile run sans phone and music to clear my head before getting some errands done.

Tuesday Bastille shirt pickup

This morning I woke up earlier than I had planned so I did a ‘weight’ workout in the gym. I use ‘ ‘ around the word weight because I don’t think I’ve ever lifted a dumbbell heavier than 5 pounds before. The view was great though so no complaints here.

Tuesday view

My plan was to squeeze in my 6 miles during lunch because Deanne and I are going to a charity orientation after work but the opportunity to go to the Taste arose so obviously I choose food over running. My run will have to wait until tonight!

P.S. I’m only $300 away from my fundraising goal AND cut watermelon is buy one get one free at Jewel today so basically I won the lottery this morning and I may or may not have already eaten one of these. . .  Happy Wednesday!

Tuesday watermelon

3 thoughts on “#RUNCHI Fun Run, New Shoes and Watermelon

Leave a Reply

