July 4th Weekend

This weekend started off with a little events welcome lunch!  Anna, Beverly and I headed over to Vapiano for lunch on Thursday to chat about Beverly’s first week here, discuss the ins and outs of events and to carbo load for the weekend!

Thursday lunch with Bev

Then after work I met up with my roommates to kick off the holiday weekend with drinks! Also my sister stopped by with her pup Max and all the girls drooled over him (okay he did most of the drooling).

Thursday drinks

Friday morning started off with my 11 mile long run. Typically my long runs are saved for Saturdays but since it was a holiday weekend, I thought I’d get it done and out of the way!

Friday 11 mile run
Overall the long run went great! The heat felt nice, the paths weren’t packed yet and there wasn’t really a time that I felt like it was tough (okay the next day soreness maybe). The only downside was running past the grilling near Castaways because people were out ready to celebrate with BBQ first thing in the morning! Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing I like more than a good hot dog but after running 7 miles at the time, the smell of the grill made my stomach turn.

After I was done, I met up with my roommate Meghan at Great American Bagel (where I end all of my long runs). I had a whole wheat bagel with veggie cream cheese and a whole slew of liquids including water, OJ and a coffee IV. We ate up, went back to the apartment and then spent part of the day at the beach with Katie.

Friday beach
After the beach I schlepped home, showered, changed and made these and then cut up strawberries for a fruit dip that was wildly popular!

Friday cupcakes

The 4th of July party at Jacobs had an amazing view and pretty good company (kidding). The apartment was on Lincoln Park West and you could see most of the city and then into the suburbs. We played Cards Against Humanity, snacked, grilled and waited for the fireworks.

Friday friends

We had all planned on looking towards the lake front for the firework show but the view towards the suburbs was amazing! You could see the shows from all of the surrounding suburbs going off at once and in the words of a child nearby “there are thousands of them and they are BEAUTIFUL”. Some photos of the view (oh and Steve):

Friday view

Friday  view 2

Friday  view 3

Friday steve and i 2

Saturday my cousins, aunts and I surprised my grandma for her birthday and we hit the spa:

Saturday spa
Isn’t she so cute:

grandma spa

Then we all went to see the movie Jersey Boys (so good) and here you can see where I get my appetite from:

Saturday grandma food

And then we finished off the afternoon with lunch and dessert:

Saturday happy birthday Grandma

Sunday morning Steve and I went to The Gold Coast and Streeterville Historical fun run hosted by Fleet Feet. If you’ve never been it is definitely something worth checking out. In terms of a workout, you really don’t run more than a few blocks at a time, but Chuck the guide is awesome and the tour overall was great! Here is a map of all the locations we hit:

Map from history run

Here we are at the beginning of the tour huddling up around Chuck:

Old town history run 1

And then Steve and I in front of the Newberry Library:

Old town history fun run Steve and I
So it’s Monday now and it’s a 4 day (but super busy) week for me so I’m starting it off right with some delicious oatmeal with banana:

Monday oatmeal breakfast

P.S. Thank you to my dad who donated to my page this weekend bringing me closer to my goal of $2000! Only 3 months and $300 to go until Marathon time!

2 thoughts on “July 4th Weekend

Leave a Reply

