Running Around

The last couple of weeks have been pretty packed and it seems like it just keeps getting busier! A few months ago when I was at home I asked my dad when life gets less crazy and he just laughed and said ‘good one’ so I guess this is it! Thankfully my schedule is packed with things and people I love (mostly) so I can’t complain!

Monday was cross train day which is supposed to mean 45 minutes to an hour of any aerobic exercise other than running. According to that definition, I failed this week. I thought when marathon training started that I had lucked out with intramurals being the same day as my cross training but I don’t think it’s going to cut it anymore. After work, Deanne and I headed over to the Bank of America Marathon Charity Reception at Park Grill in Millenium Park where we ate, learned about other charity endurance programs and found a potential suitor (or so my grandma would call it). While at the reception we both decided that we want to make an effort to attend more networking events like this one (and working on our people skills). It’s a great way to learn more about other charities fundraising and endurance programs and what we can bring back to LUNGevity’s.

name tag

We had a great conversation over wine and apps about a charity that has been part of the Bank of America Marathon since 2001 and has grown over the years from 30 to over 200 runners!

So after we did this

BOA Charity Reception wine
and this

BOA Charity Reception food
I went straight to dodgeball (indoors) and of course got caught in the monsoon on the way there. After a couple glasses of wine dodgeball gets a little more fun (or maybe just I do) but unfortunately wasn’t exactly the 45-60 minutes of cardio that I was supposed to get. . whoops. I am considering breaking out the old roller blades next week to fulfill the requirement so anyone on the streets of Chicago (or lake front) should definitely watch themselves.

Tuesday I woke up early to get my 3 miles in and my phone was almost dead. So I left it to charge and did my run without music or my Nike App. If it’s not recorded by technology in some way, does that mean the run didn’t happen?

Around 1PM yesterday I took an hour lunch break to work outside on Cosi’s patio! The weather was perfect and I actually got a lot of work done. . . oh yeah and I ate this (I couldn’t even wait to take a bite before a photo):

Cosi

After work I had about a billion (give or take) errands to run so I skipped the movie in the park and instead took this cutie with me:

10438454_3599799230730_4495883421940323854_n

Tonight I’m going to a comedy show and Deanne and I decided that waking up early and running 6 miles before work is for suckers (today at least) so we’re going to run home from work. For anyone who is wondering why I look like a slob today (I know, not much different than other days), it’s because I am multi-tasking marathon training, commuting and hanging out with Deanne.

Also, I JUST hit $1500 on my fundraising page so THANK YOU to everyone who listened to my last plea and helped me get there! Only $500 to go until I get to $2000!

Leave a Reply

