Goodbyes and Hellos

Yesterday I had to say goodbye to another one of my work fwends, Rejane. While I will miss her (and having an eating buddy here), I am excited for her new adventure in Sunny LA. Since it was her last day, we celebrated the only way we knew how. . .with food. We started with lunch at Pazzo’s where I got the Caprese Salad and she got the Chopped. Then the office closed at 4 and we grabbed an assortment of desserts at Toni’s and ate like tourists next to the bean.

Wednesday RejaneAfter our goodbye part 1 for Rejane (we are going to the Sox game and patio party tomorrow), I hightailed home to change quickly for Chicks Night at Fleet Feet with my roommate. While I’ve frequented the Old Town and South Loop  fun runs, I had never been to the Lincoln Square location before. We took the brown line to Western and got there just in time to introduce ourselves and head out. As I train for the Chicago Marathon, Meghan trains for the Women’s Half on Labor Day weekend so our running schedules have been syncing up making yesterday a 5 mile run for both of us! We followed with the group as we headed out towards the river for the first 2.5 and then turned around and did the second half just the two of us. While I love running on the lake path and in Lincoln Park/Lakeview, it was nice to get out and get a change of scenery and meet some new people.

Wednesday Chicks Night View
Once we got back to Fleet Feet we stretched out a little bit, I started a new tracking sheet and we said our goodbyes before heading home. Just a quick shameless plug for Fleet Feet: if you haven’t been to a Chicks Night before, it’s definitely something worth trying at least once. Everyone there is genuinely excited about running and supportive of your training. You meet people with similar goals as you and you are able to motivate one another as you get your workout in!

Wednesday Checks Night

Tonight after work I will be running the Jim Gibbons 5K that starts at Diversey Harbor and then continuing for the 2 miles home to get in my 5. For anyone interested in benefiting the Leukemia Research Foundation you can still register at the event starting at 4:30pm today! I’ll see you there (I’ll be the one wearing the Team LUNGevity shirt)!

 

 

One thought on “Goodbyes and Hellos

Leave a Reply

