It’s Training Time!

Today is officially day one of marathon training and I couldn’t be more excited! Anyone who knows me knows that I love schedules and to do lists, so coming in this morning and printing off my marathon training schedule was a great start to my day! Last year I followed the Hal Higdon Novice training plan to a T and for a beginner, it was a great way to get my foot in the door. This year though, with one marathon under my belt, I’m ready for a challenge. Deanne and I huddled up this morning and decided on the Hal Higdon Intermediate plan and modified it to make Saturday’s our long run day. . . because how else would you want to spend a summer Saturday morning?

Now, for the moment of truth. . . my marathon goal time is. . . FOUR HOURS!

aef52a99d6a69224b3bf83a3162459d1

Yep, I know this is totally crazy and that it’s going to be very challenging BUT I have decided that if I’m going to commit the next 4 months of my life to getting up early and training, then I’m going to make it worthwhile. So as I follow the intermediate plan, I am going to make sure that I incorporate intervals (yuck) into my Tuesday runs and spend my cross training and rest days doing yoga and extra stretching (woof).

dfe665dbb2480558e59fc3c64fa36e7a
In addition to my wildly ambitious marathon time goal, I have increased my fundraising goal to $2000 this year. With 4 months to go I have already raised $1,257.20 and am confident that I can reach $2000. I spend a good deal of my time at work sending out fundraising tips and encouraging my coordinators and Breathe Deep participants to fundraise for LUNGevity, so I feel that it’s important for me to lead by example.

So with all of this said, let’s get started!

f3badc99395164e63728e77ad64c9e40

 

 

15 thoughts on “It’s Training Time!

  1. Good luck, and what awesome goals!! Today is day 1 for me too, I’m following one of Hal Higdon’s plans for the Chicago Marathon also!

Leave a Reply

