Fun Runs and Froyo

With just about 5 weeks left until marathon training begins again, I have officially declared May my fun run month! I’m making no plans (the people that know me are probably saying yeah right to that) and just running when I feel like it for however long I want to! Thankfully the weather took a turn for the better this week and last night after work I went for 5 miles with only a tiny bit of drizzle and . .  wait for it . . . shorts!Froyo

My roommate and I have made it our mission to find the best froyo spot in Chicago (because if we don’t do it who else will?) so we headed over to Jeni’s on Southport after my run to do some taste testing. After a few spoon tests I settled on the trio sampler and got Brambleberry Crisp, Goat Cheese with Red Cherries and Wildberry Lavender. Just as she had scooped my final flavor I made a rookie mistake and tested the Key Lie Pie and of course it was AMAZING!
Verdict: There aren’t many froyo flavor options (most of them are ice cream) but Key Lime Pie is to die for and the Goat Cheese with Red Cherries was the bomb!

This morning I made no plans to get up and run but I did keep my blinds open last night. So when the sun came shining through at 5:45am, I knew I’d be mad at myself if I passed a morning run up. I pulled on shorts, a tank and a long sleeve and headed out. As soon as I hit the front door I realized that it was almost 70 degrees and I left my long sleeve on the porch! I did an easy 3 miles to the lake front, caught the end of the sun rise and headed back to get ready for work! So far May’s fun run month is looking good!

Sunrise

10 thoughts on “Fun Runs and Froyo

Leave a Reply

