2014 Race Lineup

I love Chicago – I was born here, raised here and plan on staying here for a very long time. That being said. . .winter in Chicago has been seriously chapping my ass. It’s cold (like 5 pairs of socks cold), dark, and unpredictable. It makes scheduling runs hard and the 5edb6ec55be0320ded8c3a29834f6e98treadmill inevitable.

Over the past few months I have gone through every possible interval workout you could imagine to keep from getting bored on the treadmill. This week though I hit a wall and decided enough was enough and headed outside for an awesome (and very uneven) run! One outdoor run was all I needed to get back into the swing of things and get excited for the year coming up! I began scheduling races and planning for the warmer days ahead!

So far, here’s what I have planned for 2014:

March 14th: Pi Day Pi K Run – Does it get any better than the combination of running, pie and math? I think not.

March 30th: Shamrock Shuffle – I’ve been doing the Shamrock Shuffle for the past few years and each year I have improved my time. In 2012 my 8K time was 51:56 and in 2013 I came in at 44:36 so I will be picking up the pace in 2014!

July 13th: I have a love/hate relationship with the Waterfall Glen Xtreme 10 Race. My uncle got me started running here and it is tough! Typically I do my runs in the city along the lakefront path so running in the hilly woods was a big challenge for me. The good part of it though is that the next few runs I did afterwards felt super easy! I would love to do this race again to help train. . . I am in a Wedding the night before though in Lombard so we will see how that plays out and if I can make it there in race shape in time to actually do it!

September 20th: Happy birthday to me again — let’s run 20 miles! I will be registering for the 20 miler again this year at Busse Woods if my schedule permits.

October 12th: I am officially running the Chicago Marathon again for Team LUNGevity and couldn’t be more excited! Now that I have one marathon under my belt, I will be pushing for a better time!

Thanksgiving: For the past few years I have done the Thanksgiving pie race before I head to grandma’s and stuff my face.

2014 is pretty crazy for me. I travel during event season for some of our Breathe Deep events on weekends and I also happened to be in roughly 1000 weddings. I am hoping to add in a half marathon in the summer (possibly the women’s half marathon in August) and a few other shorter races along the way for fun.

If anyone has any suggestions for races in the Chicago area or the Western Suburbs — I’d love to hear!

3 thoughts on “2014 Race Lineup

Leave a Reply

