#RUNCHI

So part of my running for fun was signing up for the #runchi Holiday Hundred challenge. While I do love to go out and run, I like to have a goal to work towards just to keep me motivated on the cold, dark mornings when my bed is the only place I want to be. The idea is to get in 100 miles between Thanksgiving and New Years Eve which averages out to about 20 miles per week . . .the perfect amount of winter mileage for me!

A few of my friends have seen my #runchi mileage posts on Facebook or Twitter when the Nike+ app loads and have asked what’s up with it. When I explained the challenge to one friend she replied with a question that really threw me off: “so what do you get when you hit 100?” Hmmm. . . Sanity? Several good runs under my belt? Extra calories to eat? It’s one of those moments when you realize you’re a runner and that you don’t need a reason or a prize to reach a mileage goal and that no one else really understands that.

On the days that I’m not running, I’m going to Corepower yoga sculpt which is an insane, hour long, hot yoga weight class. It’s a great balance for days when I’m not running and is a mix of cardio, strength and relaxation.

So here’s where I’m at as of this morning:

#RunChi Holiday Hundred

Happy Running!

6 thoughts on “#RUNCHI

  1. What a cool idea! I’m doing the Runner’s World Holiday Run Streak, which is kind of the same idea except there’s no milage goal and you have to run at least one mile every day. People think I’m crazy, but it makes me feel so good when I do my daily run and check that day off the calendar! Good luck with your challenge and it looks like you’re definitely on your way to meeting your goal!

Leave a Reply

