19 Miles and Chipolte Fest!

I have officially conquered 19 miles!

I woke up around 6:45 on Saturday morning and had some oatmeal and water before heading out. Instead of going straight to the lake Map 19 milesfront, I ran through Lincoln Park for about 4 miles before taking Addison over. I went north up the lake front path until I hit 6.5 miles and then turned around and went south. On my way back south, I actually ran through The 5 and 10K Lung Run! It was cool to be running a couple of miles with hundreds of others who are raising money for lung cancer research.

Once I hit 13, I came back around and headed home. Even though the run lasted about 3.5 hours, I felt pretty great the entire time. I ran the 19 miles aside from when I stopped for water — walking 10 steps each time to swallow before running again. Once I got back, I had a bagel, coffee and orange juice, my legs were sore and I was tired, but I wasn’t nauseous at all!

This time I tried Cliff Shot Bloks but I put them in the fridge over night and took them out before I left. I had 2-3 every 5-6 miles and I was Shot Bloks 19 mile runable to eat them with no problem while I drank water. I have decided to go with the strawberry Shot Bloks for marathon day! The first few times I had tried them, I didn’t eat them with water and they were mushy from being left out. Having them refrigerated before made a huge difference.

After the run I met friends at Chipolte Fest (is there a better way to end 19 miles?) in Lincoln Park. We had tacos, pulled pork and pie and walked around the park for awhile.

 

Pulled Pork and Pie Chipolte Fest

 

What’s Next?

This Saturday: 12 miles

September 21st: Happy Birthday to me! 20 Miles!

September 28th: 12 miles

October 5th: 8 miles

October 12th: 2 miles

20 thoughts on “19 Miles and Chipolte Fest!

  1. Hey, this is Pri from fitlikepri, I’ve nominated you for a Liebster award! for more info about it go check out the blog itselfhttp://priyashashri.wordpress.com/2013/09/14/the-liebster-award/
    hope you decide to join in πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats on breaking the 19 mile barrier! Awesome! The shot blocks are great, though I’ve never chilled them first. Great idea! Thank you

  3. Congrats on your long run; Chicago was our first full marathon last year – loved it SO much! What a fantastic city to run in; the support it unmatched! Thanks for following our blog.

Leave a Reply

