The Quest Begins!

I stocked up on gels, gu and chews in search to find something that agrees with my stomach during my long runs. My plan is to try something new on each of my Thursday runs (8 miles) and then on my Saturday long runs.

Check out this article I found online about energy gels. I love the first line about how runners used to fuel up with cola!

The quest begins!

First Up: Honey Stinger Organic Honey Waffle

I ate the Organic Honey Waffle before my 5 mile run Tuesday to see if it would hurt my stomach or not (after this I will stick to trying them on longer runs only). I loved the taste of it and aside from a small cramp around .5 miles into my run, I felt great! The downside though is that Honey Stinger Honey Waffle August 20 5 mileit’s bigger and is harder to carry and wasn’t much of an energy boost. I think that while it is a great pre-run snack, it probably isn’t the best fuel for longer runs.

Wednesday – Short Run

Wednesday was a short day so no taste testing going on. BUT as I write this I can’t help but think back to when 5 miles was something that I trained for (for weeks) and not something that was considered an easy day. Typically on Wednesdays we meet for rooftop yoga at Samantha’s but last night we had a last minute change so I decided to do something I haven’t done in a long time: run for fun! I like marathon training, but sometimes scheduling runs and trying to fit them in is like a full time job. So last night, I suddenly had extra time on my hands. I turned off my Nike App and my music and unplugged during my 5 mile run. I didn’t check my pace or worry about the time, I just ran and checked out the scenery –it was great!

Thursday – 8 Miles After Work

Thursday before heading out for my 8 mile run I tried a taste of the Cherry Lime Roctane Gu and then subsequently threw the rest right into the garbage. Most of the time I’m fine with the initial taste of food or energy gels/drinks but then when I start running, the nausea willCherry Lime Roctane Gu August 22 hit. This time though, the taste was too gross to bare even without any physical activity. So instead I brushed my teeth, ate a frozen whole wheat waffle, drank some water and hit the road. Eight miles was pretty easy and while I varied my route only slightly, heading down Southport and Addison to the lake, the change was nice.

… Stay Tuned!

18 thoughts on “The Quest Begins!

  1. Love Honey Stingers (the strawberry ones are great too)…I usually fold the package to make it fit in one of my pockets and eat the small bite-size chunks slowly around mile 6. Folding the package doesn’t seem to create a bunch of crumbs, rather it breaks it up into nickle or dime sized bites. Depending on how fast your run this may or may not be a problem when trying to eat while continuing to run, but for a slow-poke like myself, it works great.

    I totally agree that they don’t seem to provide much of an energy boost, but I tend to use them as a supplement to Gu mainly to get something solid on my stomach during a long run…otherwise I’ll start getting nauseous. I know finding the right fueling options can be frustrating sometimes, but it sounds like you’ve got a good plan in place for testing different products. Best of luck!

  2. I feel your pain! I have a fairly sensitive gut and have found that only chomps and blocks work for me. And usually that’s enough. But this training go around (Portland Marathon, Oct 6) I’ve been playing around with Nuun for electrolyte replacement. So far, so good. This Saturday will be the first time I’ve tried it on a 20+ miler. Rolling the dice!

  3. Honey Stinger waffles are AWEsome for pre-run for me, if I don’t have time to make my usual p.b. toast with honey. The chews are nice mid-run. I’ve never tried the gels they make. If I do a Gu, it’s got to be chocolate!

  4. The honey stinger chews are my fav or my long runs. The fruit smoothie is my fav!! I also bring along GU’s just in case I am really struggling. Hope you find something that works for you!

  5. I’m doing the same type of testing – sounds like my stomach is much less sensitive than yours, but it’s still tough finding the perfect pre and mid-run fuel!
    Good luck, hope you find the perfect combo for your long runs and upcoming marathon 🙂

  6. I love the honey stinger waffles for so many reasons, they are like real food, are yummy, I get a good energy boost, but they don’t make a good race fuel for me because they are big and they take a while to eat/chew. I have started using them pre long run though and live them for that.

  7. I have a hard time with fueling too — the nausea always gets me! I like the Gu Chomps without caffeine. The pink lemonade flavor is really good and it’s gentle on my stomach.

  8. I too have been looking for the ‘right’ fueling choice. After years of GU, just can’t take it anymore. One too many upset tummy, late in the race.

    Thanks for that useful link.

    And good luck with the rest of your training.

  9. I had to go through the same thing when I started running longer. NOTHING I ate agreed with my stomach, especially not Gu. The honey stingers (the chewy ones) worked best for me.

    Good luck with your training!

Leave a Reply

