Back on My Feet

A few months ago I started running with Back on My Feet, an organization I was introduced to by Samantha. Now, let me clarify by saying that I hibernated through the cold winter and nasty rain and then circled back up last week when it was sunny and warm again. Thankfully I was welcomed with open arms and jumped right in for the 5:45am run Wednesday.

This mornings run was a choice between 1.1 and 3.3 miles so I chose the latter. Even though we meet at 5:45am, it’s something I really look forward to each week (and I really recommend joining if you can). Running in a group has been much more beneficial to me than I ever could have imagined. While I don’t think I could handle doing my longer runs with anyone (or actually, they probably wouldn’t be able to deal with me), the shorter 2 – 5 mile runs are great! Having a group to meet in the morning gives me extra motivation to get out there instead of hitting the snooze button and I can pick the brains of people who have several marathons under their belts! Plus, it’s harder to slack off when you’re with other people!

Nike run 06.12.2013

Leave a Reply

